Questions for Keef

Hi Keef,

I have followed your posts with some close attention over the last year. I find some of your observations about Tesla vehicles’ build quality provocative, but I am no engineer. Could you be persuaded to help us, the reading public especially those of us who are not very knowledgeable about auto materials and construction, see the big picture? What is the main issue with Tesla cars? Is it the use of alluminum, which isn’t able to bear the weight of the battery? Is it shoddy construction in general? Are most of the problems locatable to a particular design decision?

Based on what you know about car construction, do you think that the problems you’re identifying are ones that can be fixed by Tesla? Why do you think that Tesla hasn’t already fixed them? Perhaps auto manufacturing lines are not very flexible, parts are difficult to re-jig, etc.

I am asking you because I thought this might be a good moment to synthesize the many different lines of thinking, criticisms, and faults you’ve found, taking a breath, scoping out, and helping non-experts such as myself make sense of your evidence and how serious these problems are.

I’ve named this thread “Questions for Keef”, in case others also have questions. Though, I’m not sure how alive these forums are.

Thanks.

I think I’ve hogged the forum enough so I’ll keep it brief/
I have an engineering background but you really need the opinions of an automotive engineer and materials expert.
My advanced mathematics and calculus is a bit rusty but my seat of the pants engineering tells me that the components are much too fragile and the quality of engineering is very poor.
There are many instance of the same kind of failure happening over and over.
One particular failure that happens repeatedly is breakage of the top of the steering knuckle.
Having the steel pin of the top ball joint secured only by squeezing up a slotted hole in Aluminium is absurd design.